Managing to eat while being an author

September 19, 2008

“I never had any doubts about my abilities. I knew I could write. I just had to figure out how to eat while doing this.” –Cormac McCarthy

I came across this quotation the other day and had to laugh. I also realized it spoke to something very important for people who would be authors.

There is a business side to writing and publishing: making sure you write something people will want to read; getting agents and publishers to take the book on; getting readers to buy the book when it is published; getting the word out about the book; managed the money aspects of being a writer.

I cover all this stuff in my live and online courses on writing and publishing.

There are two faces to writing:
1. Your raw energy and writing abilities;
2. Your ability to get the book into the world and have it support your writing.

Some people are better at one than the other, but you must attend to and master both to get the book written and published.

Bill

As usual, I invite you to learn more by visiting: http://www.getyourbookwritten.com

One Response to “Managing to eat while being an author”


  1. Very, very true. A lot of new writers just starting out have no idea how the creative and the business side of things have to mesh… especially if you want your writing to put food on the table!


Leave a Reply

